Week #6 – Flip Book

animals-parent-parenting-life_lessons-targetting-bird_poo-jlvn765_low.jpg

For this week’s art project we were to make a “Zine” or a Flipbook. Having no idea what a “zine” was, naturally I Googled the phrase and here is the definition : A zine (/ˈzn/ zeen; short for magazine or fanzine) is most commonly a small-circulation self-published work of original or appropriated texts and images, usually reproduced via photocopier. (according to Wikipedia). Once I read the activity page and saw that we were to create our own Zine or flip book, I got kind of excited because this is something you can completely personalize and create absolutely whatever you like! I decided to use regular while printer paper that I folded and then stapled into the center to create my very own zine while I began brainstorming my ideas. After a long internal debate on what the topic of my zine should be, I decided to make it a comical showing of all of the reasons people get roadrage with funny cartoon illustrations. Starting off with the most common causes of roadrage such as being cut off by some inconsiderate idiot and ranging to extreme cases of roadrage caused by getting bird poop-bombed through the sun-roof of your car (true story – happened to my dad one day coming home from work), my zine covers as many causes of roadrage that I could think of and every one is accompanied with a small image portraying the frustration of the situation. I really enjoyed this process and I really like how my project turned out as it did a great job of showing the frustrations that come with driving in California!

can-stock-photo_csp17044034

Leave a Reply

