Classmate Convo #1 – New friend!

img_1167Great. It’s the first day of class and I’m already late. I have 10 minutes to walk (or should I say run) from my Volleyball II class in lower campus, all the way to my Art 110 class in the second story of a building in upper campus. So I throw my backpack on, sling my bag over my shoulder, and begin the run to my first day of class. Finally, once I’ve trudged up the annoying and awkwardly paced steps, talked to a nice old Asian man trying to sell me a meditation book, and ran up a flight of stairs to my class, I see that all of the seats are taken. Awesome first day, right? Well, I end up sitting on the floor for a brief period so I can catch my breath and figure out what I’ll do about not having a seat, when this super nice girl sitting next to me offers to move to another seat so I could have hers. After thanking her profusely, I sit down and begin listening to the lecture our professor was giving us on the structure of class. At the end of the lecture he told us to speak to someone in the class that we haven’t met before, so we could write our first blog post about them. Obviously as most people would do, I turn to the person sitting next to me so I don’t have to muster the energy to get up and find another stranger to talk to and I am SO glad I did! Gabriela Urbina is one of the nicest people I’ve met at CSULB so far and I’m really glad that I talked to her. (In the picture above, she is on the left and I’m on the right.) She wants to be an elementary school teacher and even spend a year teaching abroad in Japan or Spain! Currently she is a senior working on her teaching credential and should only have one more year left until she’s ready to start her career. The whole conversation I had with her, I could tell she will be a great teacher because her passion really shows when she spoke about helping educate children. She really believes that children are the future and that we need to educate them to the best of our abilities. Gabriela also had a really calm and sweet demeanor about her that would be perfect for teaching kids. From just my first impression, every student that will be placed in her classes will be very lucky and in great caring hands. Overall, I really enjoyed talking to her and I wish her the best of luck with her studies and travels!

 

1 thought on “Classmate Convo #1 – New friend!”

Leave a Reply

